Skip to content

HTTPS clone URL

Subversion checkout URL

You can clone with
or
.
Download ZIP
Browse files

epoll: prevent missed events on EPOLL_CTL_MOD

EPOLL_CTL_MOD sets the interest mask before calling f_op->poll() to
ensure events are not missed.  Since the modifications to the interest
mask are not protected by the same lock as ep_poll_callback, we need to
ensure the change is visible to other CPUs calling ep_poll_callback.

We also need to ensure f_op->poll() has an up-to-date view of past
events which occured before we modified the interest mask.  So this
barrier also pairs with the barrier in wq_has_sleeper().

This should guarantee either ep_poll_callback or f_op->poll() (or both)
will notice the readiness of a recently-ready/modified item.

This issue was encountered by Andreas Voellmy and Junchang(Jason) Wang in:
http://thread.gmane.org/gmane.linux.kernel/1408782/

Signed-off-by: Eric Wong <normalperson@yhbt.net>
Cc: Hans Verkuil <hans.verkuil@cisco.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>
Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
Cc: Davide Libenzi <davidel@xmailserver.org>
Cc: Hans de Goede <hdegoede@redhat.com>
Cc: Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@infradead.org>
Cc: David Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
Cc: Eric Dumazet <eric.dumazet@gmail.com>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Andreas Voellmy <andreas.voellmy@yale.edu>
Tested-by: "Junchang(Jason) Wang" <junchang.wang@yale.edu>
Cc: netdev@vger.kernel.org
Cc: linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
  • Loading branch information...
commit 128dd1759d96ad36c379240f8b9463e8acfd37a1 1 parent 4a490b7
Eric Wong authored committed
Showing with 21 additions and 1 deletion.
  1. +21 −1 fs/eventpoll.c
View
22 fs/eventpoll.c
@@ -1313,7 +1313,7 @@ static int ep_modify(struct eventpoll *ep, struct epitem *epi, struct epoll_even
* otherwise we might miss an event that happens between the
* f_op->poll() call and the new event set registering.
*/
- epi->event.events = event->events;
+ epi->event.events = event->events; /* need barrier below */
pt._key = event->events;
epi->event.data = event->data; /* protected by mtx */
if (epi->event.events & EPOLLWAKEUP) {
@@ -1324,6 +1324,26 @@ static int ep_modify(struct eventpoll *ep, struct epitem *epi, struct epoll_even
}
/*
+ * The following barrier has two effects:
+ *
+ * 1) Flush epi changes above to other CPUs. This ensures
+ * we do not miss events from ep_poll_callback if an
+ * event occurs immediately after we call f_op->poll().
+ * We need this because we did not take ep->lock while
+ * changing epi above (but ep_poll_callback does take
+ * ep->lock).
+ *
+ * 2) We also need to ensure we do not miss _past_ events
+ * when calling f_op->poll(). This barrier also
+ * pairs with the barrier in wq_has_sleeper (see
+ * comments for wq_has_sleeper).
+ *
+ * This barrier will now guarantee ep_poll_callback or f_op->poll
+ * (or both) will notice the readiness of an item.
+ */
+ smp_mb();
+
+ /*
* Get current event bits. We can safely use the file* here because
* its usage count has been increased by the caller of this function.
*/
Please sign in to comment.
Something went wrong with that request. Please try again.