Permalink
Browse files

x86/fpu: Always restore_xinit_state() when use_eager_cpu()

The following commit:

  f893959 ("x86/fpu: Don't abuse drop_init_fpu() in flush_thread()")

removed drop_init_fpu() usage from flush_thread(). This seems to break
things for me - the Go 1.4 test suite fails all over the place with
floating point comparision errors (offending commit found through
bisection).

The functional change was that flush_thread() after this commit
only calls restore_init_xstate() when both use_eager_fpu() and
!used_math() are true. drop_init_fpu() (now fpu_reset_state()) calls
restore_init_xstate() regardless of whether current used_math() - apply
the same logic here.

Switch used_math() -> tsk_used_math(tsk) to consistently use the grabbed
tsk instead of current, like in the rest of flush_thread().

Tested-by: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com>
Signed-off-by: Bobby Powers <bobbypowers@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>
Acked-by: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@amacapital.net>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com>
Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Pekka Riikonen <priikone@iki.fi>
Cc: Quentin Casasnovas <quentin.casasnovas@oracle.com>
Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: Suresh Siddha <sbsiddha@gmail.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Fixes: f893959 ("x86/fpu: Don't abuse drop_init_fpu() in flush_thread()")
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1430147441-9820-1-git-send-email-bobbypowers@gmail.com
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
  • Loading branch information...
1 parent c102cb0 commit c88d47480d300eaad80c213d50c9bf6077fc49bc @bpowers bpowers committed with Ingo Molnar Apr 27, 2015
Showing with 7 additions and 5 deletions.
  1. +7 −5 arch/x86/kernel/process.c
@@ -156,11 +156,13 @@ void flush_thread(void)
/* FPU state will be reallocated lazily at the first use. */
drop_fpu(tsk);
free_thread_xstate(tsk);
- } else if (!used_math()) {
- /* kthread execs. TODO: cleanup this horror. */
- if (WARN_ON(init_fpu(tsk)))
- force_sig(SIGKILL, tsk);
- user_fpu_begin();
+ } else {
+ if (!tsk_used_math(tsk)) {
+ /* kthread execs. TODO: cleanup this horror. */
+ if (WARN_ON(init_fpu(tsk)))
+ force_sig(SIGKILL, tsk);
+ user_fpu_begin();
+ }
restore_init_xstate();
}
}

0 comments on commit c88d474

Please sign in to comment.