Skip to content
Permalink
Browse files

tcp: tcp_fragment() should apply sane memory limits

Jonathan Looney reported that a malicious peer can force a sender
to fragment its retransmit queue into tiny skbs, inflating memory
usage and/or overflow 32bit counters.

TCP allows an application to queue up to sk_sndbuf bytes,
so we need to give some allowance for non malicious splitting
of retransmit queue.

A new SNMP counter is added to monitor how many times TCP
did not allow to split an skb if the allowance was exceeded.

Note that this counter might increase in the case applications
use SO_SNDBUF socket option to lower sk_sndbuf.

CVE-2019-11478 : tcp_fragment, prevent fragmenting a packet when the
	socket is already using more than half the allowed space

Signed-off-by: Eric Dumazet <edumazet@google.com>
Reported-by: Jonathan Looney <jtl@netflix.com>
Acked-by: Neal Cardwell <ncardwell@google.com>
Acked-by: Yuchung Cheng <ycheng@google.com>
Reviewed-by: Tyler Hicks <tyhicks@canonical.com>
Cc: Bruce Curtis <brucec@netflix.com>
Cc: Jonathan Lemon <jonathan.lemon@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
  • Loading branch information...
Eric Dumazet authored and davem330 committed May 18, 2019
1 parent 3b4929f commit f070ef2ac66716357066b683fb0baf55f8191a2e
Showing with 7 additions and 0 deletions.
  1. +1 −0 include/uapi/linux/snmp.h
  2. +1 −0 net/ipv4/proc.c
  3. +5 −0 net/ipv4/tcp_output.c
@@ -283,6 +283,7 @@ enum
LINUX_MIB_TCPACKCOMPRESSED, /* TCPAckCompressed */
LINUX_MIB_TCPZEROWINDOWDROP, /* TCPZeroWindowDrop */
LINUX_MIB_TCPRCVQDROP, /* TCPRcvQDrop */
LINUX_MIB_TCPWQUEUETOOBIG, /* TCPWqueueTooBig */
__LINUX_MIB_MAX
};

@@ -287,6 +287,7 @@ static const struct snmp_mib snmp4_net_list[] = {
SNMP_MIB_ITEM("TCPAckCompressed", LINUX_MIB_TCPACKCOMPRESSED),
SNMP_MIB_ITEM("TCPZeroWindowDrop", LINUX_MIB_TCPZEROWINDOWDROP),
SNMP_MIB_ITEM("TCPRcvQDrop", LINUX_MIB_TCPRCVQDROP),
SNMP_MIB_ITEM("TCPWqueueTooBig", LINUX_MIB_TCPWQUEUETOOBIG),
SNMP_MIB_SENTINEL
};

@@ -1296,6 +1296,11 @@ int tcp_fragment(struct sock *sk, enum tcp_queue tcp_queue,
if (nsize < 0)
nsize = 0;

if (unlikely((sk->sk_wmem_queued >> 1) > sk->sk_sndbuf)) {
NET_INC_STATS(sock_net(sk), LINUX_MIB_TCPWQUEUETOOBIG);
return -ENOMEM;
}

if (skb_unclone(skb, gfp))
return -ENOMEM;

0 comments on commit f070ef2

Please sign in to comment.
You can’t perform that action at this time.