Skip to content
Browse files

nohz: Rename ts->idle_tick to ts->last_tick

Now that idle and nohz logics are going to be independant each others,
ts->idle_tick becomes too much a biased name to describe the field that
saves the last scheduled tick on top of which we re-calculate the next
tick to schedule when the timer is restarted.

We want to reuse this even to stop the tick outside idle cases. So let's
rename it to some more generic name: ts->last_tick.

This changes a bit the timer list stat export so we need to increase its
version.

Signed-off-by: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
Cc: Alessio Igor Bogani <abogani@kernel.org>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Avi Kivity <avi@redhat.com>
Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com>
Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com>
Cc: Daniel Lezcano <daniel.lezcano@linaro.org>
Cc: Geoff Levand <geoff@infradead.org>
Cc: Gilad Ben Yossef <gilad@benyossef.com>
Cc: Hakan Akkan <hakanakkan@gmail.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Cc: Kevin Hilman <khilman@ti.com>
Cc: Max Krasnyansky <maxk@qualcomm.com>
Cc: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Stephen Hemminger <shemminger@vyatta.com>
Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Cc: Sven-Thorsten Dietrich <thebigcorporation@gmail.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
  • Loading branch information...
1 parent 2ac0d98 commit f5d411c91ede162240f34e05a233f2759412988e @fweisbec fweisbec committed Jul 31, 2011
Showing with 8 additions and 8 deletions.
  1. +4 −4 include/linux/tick.h
  2. +2 −2 kernel/time/tick-sched.c
  3. +2 −2 kernel/time/timer_list.c
View
8 include/linux/tick.h
@@ -31,10 +31,10 @@ enum tick_nohz_mode {
* struct tick_sched - sched tick emulation and no idle tick control/stats
* @sched_timer: hrtimer to schedule the periodic tick in high
* resolution mode
- * @idle_tick: Store the last idle tick expiry time when the tick
- * timer is modified for idle sleeps. This is necessary
+ * @last_tick: Store the last tick expiry time when the tick
+ * timer is modified for nohz sleeps. This is necessary
* to resume the tick timer operation in the timeline
- * when the CPU returns from idle
+ * when the CPU returns from nohz sleep.
* @tick_stopped: Indicator that the idle tick has been stopped
* @idle_jiffies: jiffies at the entry to idle for idle time accounting
* @idle_calls: Total number of idle calls
@@ -51,7 +51,7 @@ struct tick_sched {
struct hrtimer sched_timer;
unsigned long check_clocks;
enum tick_nohz_mode nohz_mode;
- ktime_t idle_tick;
+ ktime_t last_tick;
int inidle;
int tick_stopped;
unsigned long idle_jiffies;
View
4 kernel/time/tick-sched.c
@@ -400,7 +400,7 @@ static void tick_nohz_stop_sched_tick(struct tick_sched *ts, ktime_t now)
if (!ts->tick_stopped) {
select_nohz_load_balancer(1);
- ts->idle_tick = hrtimer_get_expires(&ts->sched_timer);
+ ts->last_tick = hrtimer_get_expires(&ts->sched_timer);
ts->tick_stopped = 1;
}
@@ -526,7 +526,7 @@ ktime_t tick_nohz_get_sleep_length(void)
static void tick_nohz_restart(struct tick_sched *ts, ktime_t now)
{
hrtimer_cancel(&ts->sched_timer);
- hrtimer_set_expires(&ts->sched_timer, ts->idle_tick);
+ hrtimer_set_expires(&ts->sched_timer, ts->last_tick);
while (1) {
/* Forward the time to expire in the future */
View
4 kernel/time/timer_list.c
@@ -167,7 +167,7 @@ static void print_cpu(struct seq_file *m, int cpu, u64 now)
{
struct tick_sched *ts = tick_get_tick_sched(cpu);
P(nohz_mode);
- P_ns(idle_tick);
+ P_ns(last_tick);
P(tick_stopped);
P(idle_jiffies);
P(idle_calls);
@@ -259,7 +259,7 @@ static int timer_list_show(struct seq_file *m, void *v)
u64 now = ktime_to_ns(ktime_get());
int cpu;
- SEQ_printf(m, "Timer List Version: v0.6\n");
+ SEQ_printf(m, "Timer List Version: v0.7\n");
SEQ_printf(m, "HRTIMER_MAX_CLOCK_BASES: %d\n", HRTIMER_MAX_CLOCK_BASES);
SEQ_printf(m, "now at %Ld nsecs\n", (unsigned long long)now);

0 comments on commit f5d411c

Please sign in to comment.
Something went wrong with that request. Please try again.