Data and code behind the stories and interactives at FiveThirtyEight
R Python
Switch branches/tags
Nothing to show
Clone or download
Pull request Compare This branch is 640 commits behind fivethirtyeight:master.
Fetching latest commit…
Cannot retrieve the latest commit at this time.
Permalink
Failed to load latest commit information.
airline-safety
alcohol-consumption
bad-drivers
bechdel
bob-ross
classic-rock
college-majors
comic-characters
comma-survey-data
congress-age
early-senate-polls
flying-etiquette-survey
food-world-cup
forecast-methodology
historical-ncaa-forecasts
infrastructure-jobs
librarians
male-flight-attendants
march-madness-predictions
marriage
most-common-name
nba-tattoos
nfl-suspensions
nfl-wide-receivers
police-locals
poll-of-pollsters
pollster-ratings
pulitzer
region-survey
sleeping-alone-data
star-wars-survey
steak-survey
world-cup-predictions
.gitignore
LICENSE
README.md

README.md

This repository contains a selection of the data -- and the data-processing scripts -- behind the articles, graphics and interactives at FiveThirtyEight.

We hope you'll use it to check our work and to create stories and visualizations of your own. The data is available under the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License and the code is available under the MIT License. If you do find it useful, please let us know.

Article Date(s) Headline(s) Folder
Nov. 20, 2014 Dear Mona, What’s The Most Common Name In America? most-common-name
Nov. 7, 2014 Most Pollsters We Surveyed Say Polling Did Well This Year poll-of-pollsters
Oct. 31, 2014 Even Pollsters Don’t Know All The Details Of How Their Polls Are Made poll-of-pollsters
Oct. 20, 2014 Pollsters Say They Follow Ethical Standards, But They Aren’t So Sure About Their Peers poll-of-pollsters
Oct. 13, 2014 Comic Books Are Still Made By Men, For Men And About Men comic-characters
Oct. 6, 2014 Pollsters Predict Greater Polling Error In Midterm Elections poll-of-pollsters
Oct. 3, 2014 Dear Mona, How Many Flight Attendants Are Men? male-flight-attendants
Sept. 29, 2014 Marriage Isn't Dead -- Yet marriage
Sept. 25, 2014 FiveThirtyEight's Pollster Ratings pollster-ratings
Sept. 25, 2014 How FiveThirtyEight Calculates Pollster Ratings pollster-ratings
Sept. 17, 2014 How The FiveThirtyEight Senate Forecast Model Works forecast-methodology
Sept. 12, 2014 The Economic Guide To Picking A College Major college-majors
Sept. 9, 2014 The NFL’s Uneven History Of Punishing Domestic Violence nfl-suspensions
Sept. 5, 2014 41 Percent of Fliers Say It’s Rude To Recline Your Airplane Seat flying-etiquette-survey
Aug. 20, 2014 Most Police Don’t Live In The Cities They Serve police-locals
Aug. 13, 2014 Dear Mona Followup: Where Do People Drink The Most Beer, Wine And Spirits? alcohol-consumption
Aug. 4, 2014 The Football Hall Of Fame Has A Receiver Problem nfl-wide-receivers
July 25, 2014 Dear Mona, How Many Couples Sleep in Separate Beds? sleeping-alone-data
July 22, 2014 America’s Favorite ‘Star Wars’ Movies (And Least Favorite Characters) star-wars-survey
July 18, 2014 Should Travelers Avoid Flying Airlines That Have Had Crashes in the Past? airline-safety
June 25, 2014 The FiveThirtyEight International Food Association’s 2014 World Cup food-world-cup
June 17, 2014 Elitist, Superfluous, Or Popular? We Polled Americans on the Oxford Comma comma-survey-data
June 9, 2014 FiveThirtyEight’s World Cup Predictions world-cup-predictions
June 6, 2014 What Ethan Swan Learned From Tracking Every Tattoo in the NBA nba-tattoos
June 3, 2014 Using Infrastructure Jobs as a Measuring Stick For State-Level Spending infrastructure-jobs
April 29-30, 2014 Which States Are in the South? / Which States Are in the Midwest? region-survey
April 28, 2014 Both Republicans And Democrats Have an Age Problem congress-age
April 16, 2014 Early Senate Polls Have Plenty to Tell Us About November early-senate-polls
April 15, 2014 Do Pulitzers Help Newspapers Keep Readers? pulitzer
April 14, 2014 A Statistical Analysis of the Work of Bob Ross bob-ross
April 11, 2014 Where Are America’s Librarians? librarians
April 1, 2014 The Dollar-And-Cents Case Against Hollywood’s Exclusion of Women bechdel
March 27, 2014 The NCAA Bracket: Checking Our Work historical-ncaa-forecasts
March 17, 2014 FiveThirtyEight’s NCAA Tournament Predictions march-madness-predictions