Skip to content
New issue

Have a question about this project? Sign up for a free GitHub account to open an issue and contact its maintainers and the community.

By clicking “Sign up for GitHub”, you agree to our terms of service and privacy statement. We’ll occasionally send you account related emails.

Already on GitHub? Sign in to your account

Notify users when an updated version is available when connecting to MP #4825

Open
Pentarctagon opened this issue Mar 25, 2020 · 7 comments
Open

Comments

@Pentarctagon
Copy link
Member

@Pentarctagon Pentarctagon commented Mar 25, 2020

Some discussion starting here, the idea is to notify users when connecting to the MP server if their current version is out of date.

I'd expect this would be most useful for people who download from SourceForge. Most other distribution methods have automatic updates already, so if the update just hasn't been applied yet for whatever reason, then that's not something the user would need to take any action on themselves. On the opposite side of things, linux distros may well have the same outdated version downloadable from their repositories for an indefinite amount of time, so the user would get this notification every time they connect to MP without being able to get the latest version.

Given that, there would need to be a "Don't show me this again" option. Or, since starting with 1.14.10/1.14.11 and 1.15.3 the wesnoth client will tell the server where it was downloaded from, this could be implemented to only show the warning to users who downloaded it from SourceForge and also don't have the latest version.

@gfgtdf

This comment has been minimized.

Copy link
Contributor

@gfgtdf gfgtdf commented Mar 25, 2020

As mentioned in the linked thead this is already implemened, but afaik the server config file still has something like 1.14.4 as latest version.

@Pentarctagon

This comment has been minimized.

Copy link
Member Author

@Pentarctagon Pentarctagon commented Mar 25, 2020

There would at least need to be something added to not alert people who aren't downloading wesnoth updates manually though, which is most people at this point.

@soliton-

This comment has been minimized.

Copy link
Member

@soliton- soliton- commented Mar 25, 2020

I think a message with the option to not show it again (for that version and perhaps also ever) is simplest. I'm not sure we can safely decide one way or another based on client source since you at least can usually disable updates?

@gfgtdf

This comment has been minimized.

Copy link
Contributor

@gfgtdf gfgtdf commented Mar 25, 2020

There would at least need to be something added to not alert people who aren't downloading wesnoth updates manually though, which is most people at this point.

i don't see why, everyone should know that their version is outdated, even if their usual way to get i doesn't let them get the latest version. This is even more true If the new version fixed important multiplayer related bugs (like OOS). Also the current messsage shown isn't too annoying since it it just shown in the chat area and doesn't actively have to be clicked away. So i think it toatlly okay to show it to them ever time they log in.

@Pentarctagon

This comment has been minimized.

Copy link
Member Author

@Pentarctagon Pentarctagon commented Mar 25, 2020

@gfgtdf Ah, alright, I was assuming it was a popup that had to be clicked to be dismissed.

@soliton- My assumption was that if someone intentionally disabled updates, they probably wouldn't re-enable them if we told them there was an update anyway.

@soliton-

This comment has been minimized.

Copy link
Member

@soliton- soliton- commented Mar 26, 2020

@Pentarctagon Right, but then they will get the message all the time that they don't care about? If we keep it a simple server message like the security warning now then I agree it's not that big a deal. However if we want people to read the motd for example it might be bad to condition them to ignore logon messages.

@Pentarctagon

This comment has been minimized.

Copy link
Member Author

@Pentarctagon Pentarctagon commented Mar 26, 2020

It's a pretty short message now, so probably it's fine. Otherwise, I think it'd be better to only show it once per version update, rather than the user having to go into the preferences themselves and disable it.

Sign up for free to join this conversation on GitHub. Already have an account? Sign in to comment
Projects
None yet
Linked pull requests

Successfully merging a pull request may close this issue.

None yet
3 participants
You can’t perform that action at this time.