Skip to content
New issue

Have a question about this project? Sign up for a free GitHub account to open an issue and contact its maintainers and the community.

By clicking “Sign up for GitHub”, you agree to our terms of service and privacy statement. We’ll occasionally send you account related emails.

Already on GitHub? Sign in to your account

Question: Is AQ accounting for the number of handicap stones for score calculation? #84

Open
pnprog opened this Issue Feb 19, 2018 · 2 comments

Comments

Projects
None yet
2 participants
@pnprog
Copy link

pnprog commented Feb 19, 2018

Hi,

I am asking specifically when playing for Chinese rule. There is not 100% consensus regarding area scoring and handicap games, but it is usual to add the number of handicap stones to the points made by white. So that White score, after removing all dead stones, will be the sum of :

  • the number of empty points surrounded by white stones only
  • the number of living white stones on the board
  • the value of komi (usually 0.5 point for handicap game)
  • the number of handicap stones

For instance, Leela Zero accounts for it:
https://github.com/gcp/leela-zero/blob/5958e02cf539d42ee20704b664043036d5c3c18b/src/FastState.cpp#L150
And one can make the assumption that Leela does the same.
GNU Go does the same as well (http://git.savannah.gnu.org/cgit/gnugo.git/tree/engine/aftermath.c#n1185).

From what I can read in the code; AQ does not account for it:

AQ/src/gtp.cpp

Line 552 in 6902ab7

double final_score = std::abs(score[1] - score[0] - tree.komi);

Could you confirm?

@ymgaq

This comment has been minimized.

Copy link
Owner

ymgaq commented Feb 21, 2018

Surely it is. It will be fixed in the next update.

@ymgaq ymgaq added the enhancement label Feb 21, 2018

@pnprog

This comment has been minimized.

Copy link
Author

pnprog commented Feb 21, 2018

Hi!

I crafted the enclosed SGF file (9 handicap stones, komi 11.5) and asked AQ to evaluate final_score. Result for AQ: B+132.5

In the same time, Leela, Leela Zero and GnuGo give B+112.5

If I count myself (Chinese rule):

  • Black: area: 247
  • White: (area 114) + (komi 11.5) + (handicap 9) = 134.5
  • Result: B+112.5

Now, even without accounting for the handicap stone, it should be B+121.5 and not B+132.5 which seems to indicate that AQ does not accound neither for handicap (<- this might be ok, depending on rule set) neither for komi.

pnprog-vs-pnprog.zip

Sign up for free to join this conversation on GitHub. Already have an account? Sign in to comment
You can’t perform that action at this time.