Skip to content
New issue

Have a question about this project? Sign up for a free GitHub account to open an issue and contact its maintainers and the community.

By clicking “Sign up for GitHub”, you agree to our terms of service and privacy statement. We’ll occasionally send you account related emails.

Already on GitHub? Sign in to your account

add Apache2.0 license #16

Merged
merged 25 commits into from Feb 15, 2021
Merged

add Apache2.0 license #16

merged 25 commits into from Feb 15, 2021

Conversation

nhoening
Copy link
Contributor

@nhoening nhoening commented Feb 5, 2021

TODO:

  • add license
  • mention license in package meta data and for new pull requests
  • Check exceptions in api package (@nhoening)
  • Check exceptions in data package (@nhoening)
  • Check exceptions in documentation package (@nhoening)
  • Check exceptions in ui package (@Flix6x)
  • Check exceptions in utils package (@Flix6x)
  • Add NOTICE file if needed
  • Check dependencies for incompatible licenses
  • Replace pysolar (GPL-3)
  • Replace pyerf (GPL-3)
  • Add "Credits" section (e.g. modal box in footer) to attribute Flaticon and Unsplash (@Flix6x)

@Flix6x Flix6x added the documentation label Feb 9, 2021
@Flix6x Flix6x linked an issue Feb 9, 2021 that may be closed by this pull request
@nhoening
Copy link
Contributor Author

@nhoening nhoening commented Feb 11, 2021

About checking for GPL dependencies:

I've been checking our requirements/.txt files as we keep these files in the code and thus link to the libraries in there, even if they are not direct dependencies.

± python -m third_party_license_file_generator -r requirements/app.txt -r requirements/dev.txt -r requirements/test.txt -p ~/envs/sempras/bin/python -g -c

mixing requirements paths and Python paths together as follows:
	'requirements/app.txt' - '/home/nicolas/envs/sempras/bin/python'
working on license summary...
handling 'requirements/app.txt' with '/home/nicolas/envs/sempras/bin/python' ...
Apache-2.0
	'arrow' by 'Chris Smith <crsmithdev@gmail.com>' ('https://arrow.readthedocs.io')
	'bcrypt' by 'The Python Cryptographic Authority developers <cryptography-dev@python.org>' ('https://github.com/pyca/bcrypt/')
	'packaging' by 'Donald Stufft and individual contributors <donald@stufft.io>' ('https://github.com/pypa/packaging')
	'properscoring' by 'The Climate Corporation <eng@climate.com>' ('https://github.com/TheClimateCorporation/properscoring')
	'python-dateutil' by 'Gustavo Niemeyer <gustavo@niemeyer.net>' ('https://dateutil.readthedocs.io')
	'python-editor' by 'Peter Ruibal <ruibalp@gmail.com>' ('https://github.com/fmoo/python-editor')
	'requests' by 'Kenneth Reitz <me@kennethreitz.org>' ('https://requests.readthedocs.io')
	'requests-file' by 'David Shea <reallylongword@gmail.com>' ('http://github.com/dashea/requests-file')
	'selenium' by 'UNKNOWN <UNKNOWN>' ('https://github.com/SeleniumHQ/selenium/')
	'timetomodel' by 'Seita BV <nicolas@seita.nl>' ('https://github.com/seitabv/timetomodel')
	'tornado' by 'Facebook <python-tornado@googlegroups.com>' ('http://www.tornadoweb.org/')
BSD-2-clause
	'patsy' by 'Nathaniel J. Smith <njs@pobox.com>' ('https://github.com/pydata/patsy')
BSD-3-clause
	'Flask' by 'Armin Ronacher <armin.ronacher@active-4.com>' ('https://palletsprojects.com/p/flask/')
	'Jinja2' by 'Armin Ronacher <armin.ronacher@active-4.com>' ('https://palletsprojects.com/p/jinja/')
	'MarkupSafe' by 'Armin Ronacher <armin.ronacher@active-4.com>' ('https://palletsprojects.com/p/markupsafe/')
	'Werkzeug' by 'Armin Ronacher <armin.ronacher@active-4.com>' ('https://palletsprojects.com/p/werkzeug/')
	'altair' by 'Brian E. Granger / Jake VanderPlas <jakevdp@gmail.com>' ('http://altair-viz.github.io')
	'bokeh' by 'Anaconda <info@anaconda.com>' ('http://github.com/bokeh/bokeh')
	'click' by None ('https://palletsprojects.com/p/click/')
	'colour' by 'Valentin LAB <valentin.lab@kalysto.org>' ('http://github.com/vaab/colour')
	'cycler' by 'Thomas A Caswell <matplotlib-users@python.org>' ('http://github.com/matplotlib/cycler')
	'idna' by 'Kim Davies <kim@cynosure.com.au>' ('https://github.com/kjd/idna')
	'isodate' by 'Gerhard Weis <gerhard.weis@proclos.com>' ('https://github.com/gweis/isodate/')
	'itsdangerous' by 'Armin Ronacher <armin.ronacher@active-4.com>' ('https://palletsprojects.com/p/itsdangerous/')
	'joblib' by 'Gael Varoquaux <gael.varoquaux@normalesup.org>' ('https://joblib.readthedocs.io')
	'kiwisolver' by 'The Nucleic Development Team <sccolbert@gmail.com>' ('https://github.com/nucleic/kiwi')
	'numpy' by 'Travis E. Oliphant et al.' ('https://www.numpy.org')
	'pandas' by None ('https://pandas.pydata.org')
	'passlib' by 'Eli Collins <elic@assurancetechnologies.com>' ('https://bitbucket.org/ecollins/passlib')
	'ply' by 'David Beazley <dave@dabeaz.com>' ('http://www.dabeaz.com/ply/')
	'pscript' by 'Almar Klein and contributors <almar.klein@gmail.com>' ('http://pscript.readthedocs.io')
	'pycparser' by 'Eli Bendersky <eliben@gmail.com>' ('https://github.com/eliben/pycparser')
	'python-dotenv' by 'Saurabh Kumar <me+github@saurabh-kumar.com>' ('https://github.com/theskumar/python-dotenv')
	'rq' by 'Vincent Driessen <vincent@3rdcloud.com>' ('https://github.com/nvie/rq/')
	'rq-dashboard' by 'Vincent Driessen <vincent@3rdcloud.com>' ('https://github.com/Parallels/rq-dashboard')
	'scikit-learn' by None ('http://scikit-learn.org')
	'scipy' by None ('https://www.scipy.org')
	'speaklater' by 'Armin Ronacher <armin.ronacher@active-4.com>' ('http://github.com/mitsuhiko/speaklater')
	'statsmodels' by None ('https://www.statsmodels.org/')
	'threadpoolctl' by 'Thomas Moreau <thomas.moreau.2010@gmail.com>' ('https://github.com/joblib/threadpoolctl')
	'tldextract' by 'John Kurkowski <john.kurkowski@gmail.com>' ('https://github.com/john-kurkowski/tldextract')
	'toolz' by 'https://raw.github.com/pytoolz/toolz/master/AUTHORS.md' ('https://github.com/pytoolz/toolz/')
	'xlrd' by 'John Machin <sjmachin@lexicon.net>' ('http://www.python-excel.org/')
GPL-3.0
	'pyerf' by 'Douglas Thor <doug.thor@gmail.com>' ('https://www.github.com/dougthor42/pyerf')
	'pysolar' by 'Brandon Stafford <brandon@pingswept.org>' ('http://pysolar.org')
ISC
	'dnspython' by 'Bob Halley <halley@dnspython.org>' ('http://www.dnspython.org')
	'email-validator' by 'Joshua Tauberer <jt@occams.info>' ('https://github.com/JoshData/python-email-validator')
LGPL-3.0
	'chardet' by 'Daniel Blanchard <dan.blanchard@gmail.com>' ('https://github.com/chardet/chardet')
	'nose' by 'Jason Pellerin <jpellerin+nose@gmail.com>' ('http://readthedocs.org/docs/nose/')
	'openturns' by 'OpenTURNS Developers <users@openturns.org>' ('http://www.openturns.org')
	'psycopg2-binary' by 'Federico Di Gregorio <fog@initd.org>' ('https://psycopg.org/')
MIT
	'SQLAlchemy' by 'Mike Bayer <mike_mp@zzzcomputing.com>' ('http://www.sqlalchemy.org')
	'alembic' by 'Mike Bayer <mike@zzzcomputing.com>' ('https://alembic.sqlalchemy.org')
	'appdirs' by 'Trent Mick <trentm@gmail.com>' ('http://github.com/ActiveState/appdirs')
	'attrs' by 'Hynek Schlawack <hs@ox.cx>' ('https://www.attrs.org/')
	'cffi' by 'Armin Rigo, Maciej Fijalkowski <python-cffi@googlegroups.com>' ('http://cffi.readthedocs.org')
	'entrypoints' by 'Thomas Kluyver <thomas@kluyver.me.uk>' ('https://github.com/takluyver/entrypoints')
	'filelock' by 'Benedikt Schmitt <benedikt@benediktschmitt.de>' ('https://github.com/benediktschmitt/py-filelock')
	'flask-marshmallow' by 'Steven Loria <sloria1@gmail.com>' ('https://github.com/marshmallow-code/flask-marshmallow')
	'humanize' by 'Jason Moiron <jmoiron@jmoiron.net>' ('https://github.com/jmoiron/humanize')
	'inflect' by 'Paul Dyson <pwdyson@yahoo.com>' ('https://github.com/jazzband/inflect')
	'inflection' by 'Janne Vanhala <janne.vanhala@gmail.com>' ('https://github.com/jpvanhal/inflection')
	'iso8601' by 'Michael Twomey <micktwomey+iso8601@gmail.com>' ('https://bitbucket.org/micktwomey/pyiso8601')
	'jsonschema' by 'Julian Berman <Julian@GrayVines.com>' ('https://github.com/Julian/jsonschema')
	'marshmallow' by 'Steven Loria <sloria1@gmail.com>' ('https://github.com/marshmallow-code/marshmallow')
	'marshmallow-sqlalchemy' by 'Steven Loria <sloria1@gmail.com>' ('https://github.com/marshmallow-code/marshmallow-sqlalchemy')
	'pandas-bokeh' by 'Patrik Hlobil <patrik.hlobil@googlemail.com>' ('https://github.com/PatrikHlobil/Pandas-Bokeh')
	'pyparsing' by 'Paul McGuire <ptmcg@users.sourceforge.net>' ('https://github.com/pyparsing/pyparsing/')
	'pyrsistent' by 'Tobias Gustafsson <tobias.l.gustafsson@gmail.com>' ('http://github.com/tobgu/pyrsistent/')
	'pytz' by 'Stuart Bishop <stuart@stuartbishop.net>' ('http://pythonhosted.org/pytz')
	'redis' by 'Andy McCurdy <sedrik@gmail.com>' ('https://github.com/andymccurdy/redis-py')
	'setuptools' by 'Python Packaging Authority <distutils-sig@python.org>' ('https://github.com/pypa/setuptools')
	'six' by 'Benjamin Peterson <benjamin@python.org>' ('https://github.com/benjaminp/six')
	'timely-beliefs' by 'Seita BV <felix@seita.nl>' ('https://github.com/seitabv/timely-beliefs')
	'tzlocal' by 'Lennart Regebro <regebro@gmail.com>' ('https://github.com/regebro/tzlocal')
	'urllib3' by 'Andrey Petrov <andrey.petrov@shazow.net>' ('https://urllib3.readthedocs.io/')
MPL-2.0
	'certifi' by 'Kenneth Reitz <me@kennethreitz.com>' ('https://certifiio.readthedocs.io/en/latest/')
Python-2.0
	'matplotlib' by 'John D. Hunter, Michael Droettboom <matplotlib-users@python.org>' ('https://matplotlib.org')
Unknown (assumed commercial)
	'sklearn' by 'UNKNOWN <UNKNOWN>' ('https://pypi.python.org/pypi/scikit-learn/')

Sklearn has a BSD-3-Clause License so this is one the tool could not figure out.

We'll replace pyerf and pysolar.

@nhoening nhoening requested a review from Flix6x Feb 12, 2021
Flix6x
Flix6x approved these changes Feb 14, 2021
@nhoening nhoening merged commit 75888f3 into main Feb 15, 2021
2 checks passed
@nhoening nhoening deleted the issue-15-Add_license branch Feb 15, 2021
Sign up for free to join this conversation on GitHub. Already have an account? Sign in to comment
Labels
documentation
Projects
None yet
Development

Successfully merging this pull request may close these issues.

2 participants