Jupyter Notebook Python
Switch branches/tags
Nothing to show
Clone or download

README.md

Project Cognoma

Putting machine learning in the hands of cancer biologists.

Project Cognoma is an open source project to create a webapp for analyzing cancer data. We're a community-driven philanthropic project that began as a collaboration between the Greene Lab, DataPhilly, and Code for Philly. Our contributors are primarily based in the Philadelphia area, but anyone anywhere is welcome. This GitHub repository is the administrative and informational home of Cognoma.

The Meetup phase of Cognoma is now complete! The Childhood Cancer Data Lab of Alex's Lemonade Stand Foundation will be providing longterm maintenance. Public contributions are still welcome through GitHub. The main priority is enhancements and bug fixes to improve http://cognoma.org. For a nice overview of the project, see its coverage by The Philadelphia Citizen.

Teams and Repositories

The project is composed of four teams with their own corresponding repositories:

Team Name Repositories Description
Cancer Data cancer-data, genes, figshare processing the underlying cancer data to the formats required for this project.
Machine Learning machine-learning, cognoml building classifiers to predict mutation status from gene expression data.
Backend core-service, task-service, ml-workers, infrastructure creating the infrastructure to power the webapp and glue the components together.
Frontend frontend, uiux building the webapp that users interact with.

New Here?

If you are a new user and would like to get involved, please introduce yourself. Contributions are made through GitHub, so if you are unfamiliar with git or GitHub, check out the sandbox for a place to learn by doing.

Meetup Schedule

We hold project meetups. Our usual meeting spot is at Industrious (where CandiDate is located). The address is 230 S Broad St, Floor 17, Philadelphia.

📅 Date ⌚ Time 🗺 Location ℹ️ Meetup Details 💰 Sponsor
Wednesday, October 11, 2017 6:00 PM MilkBoy DataPhilly Alex’s Lemonade Stand Foundation
Tuesday, August 15, 2017 6:00 PM CandiDate DataPhilly Penn Institute for Biomedical Informatics
Tuesday, July 11, 2017 6:00 PM CandiDate DataPhilly Penn Institute for Biomedical Informatics
Tuesday, June 27, 2017 6:00 PM CandiDate DataPhilly Penn Institute for Biomedical Informatics
Tuesday, May 30, 2017 6:00 PM CandiDate DataPhilly Penn Institute for Biomedical Informatics
Tuesday, April 25, 2017 6:00 PM CandiDate DataPhilly Penn Institute for Biomedical Informatics
Tuesday, April 4, 2017 6:00 PM CandiDate DataPhilly Penn Institute for Biomedical Informatics
Tuesday, February 28, 2017 6:00 PM CandiDate DataPhilly Penn Institute for Biomedical Informatics
Monday, February 13, 2017 6:00 PM CandiDate DataPhilly Penn Institute for Biomedical Informatics
Tuesday, January 31, 2017 6:00 PM CandiDate DataPhilly Penn Institute for Biomedical Informatics
Monday, January 16, 2017 9:00 AM Philly Think Space Frontend Only MLK Day Volunteers from Think Company
Tuesday, January 10, 2017 6:00 PM CandiDate DataPhilly Penn Institute for Biomedical Informatics
Tuesday, December 20, 2016 6:00 PM CandiDate DataPhilly Penn Institute for Biomedical Informatics
Tuesday, December 6, 2016 6:00 PM CandiDate DataPhilly Penn Institute for Biomedical Informatics
Tuesday, November 15, 2016 6:00 PM CandiDate DataPhilly Penn Institute for Biomedical Informatics
Tuesday, November 1, 2016 6:00 PM CandiDate DataPhilly Penn Institute for Biomedical Informatics
Tuesday, October 18, 2016 6:00 PM CandiDate DataPhilly Penn Institute for Biomedical Informatics
Tuesday, October 4, 2016 6:00 PM CandiDate DataPhilly Penn Institute for Biomedical Informatics
Monday, September 19, 2016 6:00 PM CandiDate DataPhilly Penn Institute for Biomedical Informatics
Tuesday, September 6, 2016 6:00 PM CandiDate DataPhilly Penn Institute for Biomedical Informatics
Tuesday, August 23, 2016 6:00 PM CandiDate DataPhilly Penn Institute for Biomedical Informatics
Tuesday, August 9, 2016 6:00 PM CandiDate DataPhilly Penn Institute for Biomedical Informatics
Tuesday, July 26, 2016 6:00 PM CandiDate DataPhilly Penn Institute for Biomedical Informatics
Tuesday, July 19, 2016 6:00 PM CandiDate DataPhilly Penn Institute for Biomedical Informatics
Tuesday, July 12, 2016 6:00 PM CandiDate DataPhilly MilkBoy
Tuesday, July 5, 2016 6:00 PM CandiDate DataPhilly Neo Technology
Tuesday, June 28, 2016 6:00 PM MilkBoy DataPhilly / Code for Philly MilkBoy

Contributing

Community contributions are the driving force behind Cognoma. The heatmap below shows which users have contributed to which repositories:

Contribution Heatmap

See the guidelines for contributing for more information.

Maintainers

Cognoma relies on our generous community maintainers to assist with contributions. Thanks to the following maintainers for their help: