Skip to content

Brave Release Schedule

Kamil Jozwiak edited this page Dec 8, 2022 · 352 revisions
Clone this wiki locally

TOC

Overview

Currently published version numbers can be seen at https://brave-browser-downloads.s3.brave.com/

  • Major Release frequency: ~4 weeks
  • Maintenance Release frequency: ~2 weeks after a major release (however, these are tentative and subject to change)
  • Chemspill/Hotfix frequency: As needed
  • Every major release is tied to a fuzzy Chromium release date.

Older Brave Release Schedules are available in the Brave Release Schedules Archive.

Information about channel differences available in the Release Channel Descriptions.

Current channel information:

Channel Release Beta & Dev Nightly
Milestone 1.46.x 1.47.x 1.48.x
Branch name 1.46.x 1.47.x master

Note: These versions represent which channel our CI builds things on. It may not reflect exactly the version on release channel for example. This would happen if for example Release above said 0.58.x and it was in RC but on our website we still offered 0.57.x.

Current build schedule:

The following is our automated schedule for creating and uploading builds to our Sparkle (macOS), Omaha (Windows) servers and our Linux repositories.

Channel Time Days Platforms Public
Beta 4am UTC (8pm PST/11pm EST) Monday, Wednesday, Friday android linux-x64 macos-x64 win64 no
Beta 4am UTC (8pm PST/11pm EST) Tuesday, Thursday all yes
Dev 8am UTC (12am PST/3am EST) Tuesday, Thursday linux-x64 macos-x64 macos-arm64 win64 win32 yes
Nightly 12pm UTC (4am PST/7am EST) Monday - Friday all yes
Nightly 6pm UTC (10am PST/1pm EST) Monday - Friday android linux-x64 macos-x64 win64 no
Nightly 12am UTC (4pm PST/7pm EST) Monday - Friday android linux-x64 macos-x64 win64 no

Release channel dates:

Version Chromium Migration Date Release Date Comments
1.44.x 106 September 20, 2022 September 27, 2022
1.44.x 106 N/A October 12, 2022 Maintenance Release
1.45.x 107 October 18, 2022 October 25, 2022
1.45.x 107 N/A November 15, 2022 Maintenance Release.
1.46.x 108 November 22, 2022 December 1, 2022 Release delayed. Originally scheduled for November 29, 2022.
1.46.x 108 N/A December 14, 2022 Maintenance Release
1.46.x 108 N/A December 29, 2022 Maintenance Release (tentative) - Note: Depending on QA availability, this maintenance release may be moved to January 4, 2023. Cancelled.
1.47.x 109 January 4, 2023 January 10, 2023
1.47.x 109 N/A January 25, 2023 Maintenance Release
1.48.x 110 January 31, 2023 February 7, 2023
1.48.x 110 N/A February 22, 2023 Maintenance Release
1.49.x 111 February 28, 2023 March 7, 2023
1.49.x 111 N/A March 22, 2023 Maintenance Release
1.50.x 112 March 28, 2023 April 4, 2023
1.50.x 112 N/A April 19, 2023 Maintenance Release
1.51.x 113 April 25, 2023 May 2, 2023
1.51.x 113 N/A May 17, 2023 Maintenance Release
1.52.x 114 May 23, 2023 May 30, 2023
1.52.x 114 N/A June 14, 2023 Maintenance Release
1.53.x 115 June 20, 2023 June 27, 2023
1.53.x 115 N/A July 12, 2023 Maintenance Release
1.53.x 115 N/A July 26, 2023 Maintenance Release
1.54.x 116 August 1, 2023 August 8, 20203
1.54.x 116 N/A August 23, 2023 Maintenance Release
1.55.x 117 August 29, 2023 September 5, 2023
1.55.x 117 N/A September 20, 2023 Maintenance Release
1.56.x 118 September 26, 2023 October 3, 2023
1.56.x 118 N/A October 18, 2023 Maintenance Release
1.57.x 119 October 24, 2023 October 31, 2023
  • All dates are approximate and are subject to change.
  • Maintenance releases are tentative and subject to change.
  • Migration Date is also the cutoff date to add strings that need to be translated for the release.
  • Updates will be released as requested only.

Number of days between each release on Release channel

Version # of days between releases Comments
1.44.x - 1.45.x 28 days
1.45.x - 1.46.x 35 days
1.46.x - 1.47.x 42 days
1.47.x - 1.48.x 28 days
1.48.x - 1.49.x 28 days
1.49.x - 1.50.x 28 days
1.50.x - 1.51.x 28 days
1.51.x - 1.52.x 28 days
1.52.x - 1.53.x 28 days
1.53.x - 1.54.x 42 days
1.54.x - 1.55.x 28 days
1.55.x - 1.56.x 28 days
1.56.x - 1.57.x 28 days

Beta & Dev channel migration dates:

Version Target Chromium Migration Date Comments
1.44.x 106 August 23, 2022
1.45.x 107 September 20, 2022
1.46.x 108 October 18, 2022
1.47.x 109 November 22, 2022
1.48.x 110 January 4, 2023
1.49.x 111 January 31, 2023
1.50.x 112 February 28, 2023
1.51.x 113 March 28, 2023
1.52.x 114 April 25, 2023
1.53.x 115 May 23, 2023
1.54.x 116 June 20, 2023
1.55.x 117 August 1, 2023
1.56.x 118 August 29, 2023
1.57.x 119 September 26, 2023
1.58.x 120 October 24, 2023
  • CI does builds for Beta channel happen twice a week.
  • CI builds for Dev channel happen once a day on weekdays.
  • Updates are released as there are builds as long as tests pass.

Nightly channel migration dates:

Version Target Chromium Migration Date Comments
1.45.x 107 August 23, 2022
1.46.x 108 September 20, 2022
1.47.x 109 October 18, 2022
1.48.x 110 November 22, 2022
1.49.x 111 January 4, 2023
1.50.x 112 January 31, 2023
1.51.x 113 February 28, 2023
1.52.x 114 March 28, 2023
1.53.x 115 April 25, 2023
1.54.x 116 May 23, 2023
1.55.x 117 June 20, 2023
1.56.x 118 August 1, 2023
1.57.x 119 August 29, 2023
1.58.x 120 September 26, 2023
1.59.x 121 October 24, 2023
  • Nightly builds will be made from master for this channel.
  • This means that within a day of any change you can start testing it.
  • Developers work off of master.
  • We keep master stable, when it is not, we backout what broke it.
  • If something fails tests, that thing should be backed out.
  • brave/brave-browser's package.json specifies brave-core branch to be master.

Mobile platforms

Android rollout process

When 1) approved in the Google Play Store and 2) QA has signed off on the release, we'll release in a staged rollout. Before moving to the next stage, crash reports are checked by release team and evaluated.

Assuming we have the release ready in the morning, the schedule will typically look like this:

day time rollout
1 morning initial release 1%
1 evening 5%
2 morning 10%
2 evening 20%
3 morning 50%
3 evening 100%

iOS rollout process

When 1) approved in iOS App Store and 2) QA has signed off on the release, we'll begin the automated rollout. This takes place over 7 days to people who have automatic updates enabled. Users can visit the App Store page for Brave at any time and get the latest one

If something goes wrong, the release can be paused.

day rollout
1 initial release 1%
2 2%
3 5%
4 10%
5 20%
6 50%
7 100%

How to do branch migrations:

For folks that want to see more of "how the sausage is made" (link restricted to Brave employees), you can view the Jenkins job details here: https://github.com/brave/devops/blob/master/jenkins/jobs/browser/branch-migrations.yml