Python script for searching Genius.com API
Clone or download
Fetching latest commit…
Cannot retrieve the latest commit at this time.
Permalink
Type Name Latest commit message Commit time
Failed to load latest commit information.
.gitignore
README.md
credentials.txt
search.py

README.md

genius-lyrics-search

A quick and dirty Python script for searching lyrics/artists/songs on https://api.genius.com, parsing the returned JSON, and outputting it in a CSV file.

Requirements and Setup

Written for Python 2.7 (but could be tweaked for Python 3 pretty easily). Requires a client access token from Genius.com: https://genius.com/api-clients. (Maybe in future will generate authentication from client_id and client_secret.) Add access token credential to "credentials.ini" in project root folder

client_access_token = 'fillinyourtokenhere'

Script passes the access token in a request header as specified in Genius documentation: Using An Access Token.

Run

python search.py 'search terms here'

or if using as imported function

search(search_term,outputfilename,client_access_token)

##Limitations/to-do

  • Only gets 50 pages worth of results (approximately 1000 results). Appears to be a restriction on Genius' end.
  • Currently searches not just lyrics for search term, but also song titles and artist names.
  • No way to differentiate between genres or between lyrics vs. text content (e.g. speeches, interviews, magazine articles, books)?
  • This was just for fun!

##Sample output First ten results for search for albee square (web search)

page id title url path header_image_url annotation_count pyongs_count primaryartist_id primaryartist_name primaryartist_url primaryartist_imageurl
1 10388 Albee Square Mall http://genius.com/Biz-markie-albee-square-mall-lyrics /Biz-markie-albee-square-mall-lyrics https://assets.rapgenius.com/images/default_cover_image.png?1442605042 1 26362 Biz Markie http://genius.com/artists/Biz-markie http://images.rapgenius.com/306441a47d61f6f0573172b900c3387e.350x350x1.jpg
1 582565 Albee Square Mall http://genius.com/Skyzoo-and-torae-albee-square-mall-lyrics /Skyzoo-and-torae-albee-square-mall-lyrics http://images.rapgenius.com/208ff1c245122e3ddc378e1c4e1d09e7.316x316x1.jpg 1 211611 Skyzoo & Torae http://genius.com/artists/Skyzoo-and-torae http://bringingdowntheband.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/05/Torae-Skyzoo-1.jpg
1 136493 Definition Of A Rap Flow http://genius.com/Ra-the-rugged-man-definition-of-a-rap-flow-lyrics /Ra-the-rugged-man-definition-of-a-rap-flow-lyrics http://s3.amazonaws.com/rapgenius/220px-Legends_Never_Die_cover.jpg 1 13 320 R.A. The Rugged Man http://genius.com/artists/Ra-the-rugged-man http://s3.amazonaws.com/rapgenius/R_A__the_Rugged_Man_by_Gainrrom.jpg
1 236 Hello Brooklyn 2.0 http://genius.com/Jay-z-hello-brooklyn-20-lyrics /Jay-z-hello-brooklyn-20-lyrics http://s3.amazonaws.com/rapgenius/1313160888_220px-JayZ_American_Gangster_Cover.jpg 1 5 2 Jay Z http://genius.com/artists/Jay-z http://images.rapgenius.com/0d53c56a247ef39e4106718deb95f347.1000x500x1.jpg
1 1705 Return of the Crooklyn Dodgers http://genius.com/The-crooklyn-dodgers-return-of-the-crooklyn-dodgers-lyrics /The-crooklyn-dodgers-return-of-the-crooklyn-dodgers-lyrics http://images.rapgenius.com/d3e0fd1b9ceea7995279034310c0480c.600x600x1.jpg 1 3 861 The Crooklyn Dodgers http://genius.com/artists/The-crooklyn-dodgers
1 3502 Motherless Child http://genius.com/Ghostface-killah-motherless-child-lyrics /Ghostface-killah-motherless-child-lyrics http://s3.amazonaws.com/rapgenius/220px-SunsetPark-Soundtrack.jpg 1 2 20 Ghostface Killah http://genius.com/artists/Ghostface-killah http://images.rapgenius.com/227de22e535416c2ec2a6f012f37c9ef.620x400x1.jpg
1 9435 Hey Fuck You http://genius.com/Beastie-boys-hey-fuck-you-lyrics /Beastie-boys-hey-fuck-you-lyrics http://images.rapgenius.com/b9e5dde07b233ec5f15e77eb14777437.400x400x1.jpg 1 329 Beastie Boys http://genius.com/artists/Beastie-boys http://images.rapgenius.com/28a945e64fc4b3c0e6ce96486f6e4df3.450x450x1.jpg
1 104 Angelz http://genius.com/Mf-doom-angelz-lyrics /Mf-doom-angelz-lyrics http://s3.amazonaws.com/rapgenius/1365973654_Born-like-this.jpg 1 1 70 MF DOOM http://genius.com/artists/Mf-doom http://s3.amazonaws.com/rapgenius/mf%20doom_jpg_630x420_q85.jpg
1 21391 The Mall http://genius.com/Gang-starr-the-mall-lyrics /Gang-starr-the-mall-lyrics http://s3.amazonaws.com/rapgenius/1361526754_Gang-Starr-Moment-Of-Truth.jpg 1 1 220 Gang Starr http://genius.com/artists/Gang-starr http://s3.amazonaws.com/rapgenius/gang-starr-dj-premier-guru.jpg