Repository navigation
New people sharing features #32196
Replies: 14 comments 16 replies
|
Hi; Just spent 30minutes with it. ZERO ISSUES!!! :D Timeline; Was on v3.2.2, created a cluster with wife. Then on 3.2.4; noticed I could suddenly see 'new' people in web only (not mobile), which were 'people' on my wife's account. I merged them then. I never did a facial recognition reset when I created the cluster. It worked for me then, I could look at wife's photos and see people tagged, and vica-versa. Only on web, not mobile. Now on v3.3.0; went to people sharing, and shared everyone bi-laterally on my account and wife's account. Checked people, everyone I previously merged, were still merged as one. Merged some new people together, works great no issues. Thumbnail / feature photo of each person was still from the original account 'person'. And merge order dictates which feature photo thumbnail stays - very predicable and easy to use. Scrolled around now; i'm getting matching asset counts for both our accounts on people. It's working fine on both web and mobile (both android). Thanks a million. Let me know if you need something else tested. |
This comment was marked as off-topic.
This comment was marked as off-topic.
|
I don't care about any sharing features. I want an option to disable all share-related features from web and mobile version. |
|
perhaps a feature that can be considered is marking a person as us , and other users would have a person with me , they would get recommended to be shared with me and vice versa for the whole cluster or perhaps sampling faces from person clusters of user b to see if they match another persons (userb b and c) clusters and recommending share or merges(maybe sampling only the newly shared ones) based on that? ==> person sharing or merging recommendations |
This comment was marked as off-topic.
This comment was marked as off-topic.
|
I would like to be able to share albums with friends and family and allow them to see information about the people in the photos (so they can see the name/thumbnail/age), but I don't want to give them the ability to edit my people. I don't think that's possible with this current feature? It might be that for my scenario, I just need a completely different feature that simply gives us a checkbox when sharing an album to allow viewing of the people information in the album. That may be a completely separate feature than this more complicated merging of people between users. |
|
Thank you for all the work in this feature ! I was so hyped and immediately updated. And it worked just as expected no problems at all. Thank you so much! I also created a test user let him join the cluster group, shared an album and he was shown the faces I shared with him (if the number of faces reached n) I noticed just these things:
|
|
Will this feature be extended to partner sharing by default? Any reason it wasn't included? |
|
I'm on v3.2 but have not tried the face cluster group feature due to this reason
Is it still required in v3.3?
|
|
Thank you very much for the v3.3 release, it looks very promising! I’m still a bit confused about how to use the new people sharing feature with external libraries, though. I’d like to enable it for my external libraries only, so that other users can see the photos from the external library, including the people/face data, but not anything from my personal library. However, I can’t find any selector in the admin settings where I can choose which user accounts should have access. Am I remembering correctly that the people sharing feature is also supposed to work with external libraries? If so, how can I configure this? |
|
Thank you for adding this feature, awesome! :) |
|
I encountered an issue that seems to be related to three (!) accounts partially sharing a person. Account 1 shares all assets via partner sharing to account 2. Account 2 and account 3 mutually share a person (A and B). These (technical) persons are different due to vast age differences in the assets, but actually represent the same (human) person. After merging A and B, the leftover (technical) person is still shown with a broken thumbnail, but only in one of the accounts 2 or 3. This might be due to the fact that there are still assets owned by account 1 which have not been merged (due to lack of permissions, i.e. person 1 did not share the person explicitly?). It's wild, and I hope this helps. I got this fixed after also sharing the person from account 1. |
|
first time experience here. Experience:
Still confused if this is the way to go, because i would have assumed if i share a person with another user that all media of that person is also shared with the other user. could certainly be only a documentation issue, that manage access should include a good explanation/link to what "sharing a person" actually means especially the differentiation between sharing persons and sharing assets and how they work together :) |



Uh oh!
There was an error while loading. Please reload this page.
Uh oh!
There was an error while loading. Please reload this page.
We're looking for feedback after releasing some person sharing improvements in the v3.3.0 release.
Try it out and let us know if you have any feedback. In other words:
People sharing has been actually been very complicated to implement and we acknowledge that it has some rough edges. Please let us know what those are and how we can fix them. We have been iterating on this feature for quite some time now and thought it would be better to release and get fast feedback rather than trying to make it perfect before launch. We think it's probably 80% of the way there, so it should be functional and usable, even if it is still a bit confusing.
It's worth noting that we also do plan to add some documentation around this feature in the future. The hope is that as the feature improves it'll be more clear and require less documentation in the first place.
FAQs
Do I have to re-run facial recognition?
No. Users can join a cluster group and re-running facial recognition is not required.
Worth noting that not re-running facial recognition just means that you may end up with multiple "versions" of the same person, "John" for example. These will just need to be manually merged. If you do re-run facial recognition you would lose all the names but things would start off much more "pre-merged" than they would otherwise.
I updated to v3.3 but I don't see the "Manage access" button. Why is that?
The button is automatically hidden if there are no other users in your cluster group. Sharing features are limited to cluster groups, which were added in v3.2. Invite a user from the Settings > Sharing section in user settings on the web, wait for them to accept the invite, and then check again for the "Manage access" button.
All reactions